Which are the eligible countries to apply for an Egypt Online Visa?

There are currently only 8 countries whose citizens are eligible to travel to Egypt without a visa for a stay of up to 3 months: Bahrain, Hong Kong, Kuwait, Lebanon, Macao, Oman, Saudi Arabia, and United Arab Emirates. The visa-free regime also applies to citizens of some additional countries under certain conditions.

All other passport holders wishing to enjoy a stay in Egypt, no matter the duration and purpose of the stay, are required to obtain a visa to travel to the country. From December 2017, eligible citizens traveling to the country for up to 30 days for purposes of tourism or business have been able to obtain an Egypt eVisa through a simple online application form.

There are currently 46 Egypt e-Visa eligible countries, including the United States, Australia, and all European Union member states. As it can take up to 5 business days to process, e-visa for Egypt eligible travelers are advised to submit the application at least 7 days before the intended departure day.

Egypt eVisa Eligible Countries

Citizens from the following countries are eligible to apply for an Egypt e-Visa:

Albania Australia Austria Belgium Bulgaria
Canada Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark
Estonia Finland France Germany Greece
Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy Japan
Latvia Lithuania Luxembourg Macedonia Malta
Moldova Monaco Montenegro Netherlands New Zealand
Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia
Serbia Slovakia Slovenia South Korea Spain
Sweden Switzerland United Kingdom United States Ukraine
The Vatican

A visa for Egypt is not required for many of the same Egypt e-Visa eligible citizens who are traveling to one of the Sinai Red Sea resorts of Sharm El Sheikh, Dahab, Nuweiba or Taba for a holiday. A free entry permission stamp is available in such cases, allowing a maximum stay of up to 15 days in the area. However, Egypt online visa eligible travelers who wish to leave the Sinai resorts and visit the rest of the country will be required to obtain an e-Visa to do so.

Egypt Visa on Arrival Eligible Countries

Citizens of many of the same Egypt visa online eligible countries also have the option to get a visa on arrival at border entry points. Citizens of the following countries are able to obtain an Egypt visa upon arrival:

  • All European Union citizens
  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Georgia
  • Japan
  • South Korea
  • New Zealand
  • North Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • Ukraine
  • United States

The Egyptian visa on arrival also permits a maximum stay of up to 30 days for tourism or business purposes in Egypt. However, the application process at the border involves long waiting times, as opposed to the fast and simple online application for the e-Visa.

Additionally, while eligible applicants can obtain a multiple-entry visa for Egpyt through the e-Visa application, it's only possible to get a single-entry Egypt visa on arrival at the border. The multiple-entry Egypt visa allows holders to stay for a maximum of 30 days over a 90-day period with multiple entries but must be applied for online before entering the country.

Citizens eligible for the Egypt visa for multiple-entry, and who wish to work long-term in Egypt, are able to use the document to first enter the country before applying for a work permit with the support of an Egyptian employer.

Previous Post Next Post

By using our website you accept our Cookies Policy. Click here to know more. I agree